7 Malawi Safari Lodges to Book for 2027: Rates Compared
Discover 7 Malawi Safari Lodges to Book for 2027: Rates Compared - Expert guide to safari tourism and wildlife destinations.

7 Malawi Safari Lodges to Book for 2027: Rates Compared
Last updated: September 2026
These 7 Malawi safari lodges and lodge-style safari options range from $335 per person sharing at Mvuu Safari Camp to $9,000 for Scott Dunn's Ultimate Malawi in 2027. Pumulani, Mvuu, and Mkulumadzi suit travelers who want clear lodge rates, while package companies suit travelers planning a longer Malawi trip. Compare dates, inclusions, and reviews before you book.
At a glance
- Price range: $335 per person sharing to $9,000 per person for listed 2027 options
- Best time to compare: January to September 2027, when published lodge rates are available
- Duration: 7 to 13 days for the listed safari packages
- Best for: Budget travelers, small groups, couples, and luxury safari guests
- Known for: Liwonde, Majete, Lake Malawi, and multi-stop country tours
- Booking note: Rates may exclude visas, airport taxes, flights, or special offers
Malawi safari lodges give you a wide choice of prices, from $335 nights at Mvuu Safari Camp to a $9,000 luxury tour. That gap matters. It reflects trip length, lodge level, meals, transfers, activities, and the number of parks or lake areas included.
In this guide, "lodges" includes named camps, lake lodges, and safari packages that use several properties. That approach helps because many visitors do not book one lodge for the whole trip. They combine Liwonde, Majete, Lake Malawi, or a longer route through the country.
Malawi safari lodges are easier to compare when you separate room rates from full trip prices. A lodge rate may show a nightly cost per person sharing. A package price may include transport, guides, park stays, and several meals. Read the inclusions before you compare the numbers.
Quick answer: The cheapest listed 2027 lodge rate is Mvuu Safari Camp at $335 per person sharing for January 1 to June 30. Mkulumadzi starts at $485 for January 1 to May 21. Full tours cost more, with a 7-day Southern Malawi trip from $3,186 and Scott Dunn's Ultimate Malawi from $9,000.
SafariFind connects travelers with verified tour operators and authentic traveler reviews. You can also compare the wider Malawi safari catalog when you want a route rather than one property.
What are the 7 Malawi safari lodges and options for 2027?
The seven options below cover low-cost camp stays, lake lodges, private safari planning, and longer country tours. They are useful comparison points because the available research gives a clear rate or package price for each option. Some are individual properties. Others are package brands that select several lodges.
2027 lodge and package comparison
| Name | Price | Duration | Rating | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pumulani Lodge | Published 2027 rate sheet | Flexible stay | Not stated | Lake Malawi stays with activities |
| Mvuu Safari Camp | From $335 per person sharing | Flexible stay | Not stated | Lower-cost Liwonde stays |
| Mkulumadzi | $485 to $660 per person sharing | Flexible stay | Not stated | Majete safari stays |
| Discover Africa Malawi tours | From $2,005, comparison price $2,135 | Varies | Not stated | Travelers comparing full tours |
| African Budget Safaris Southern Malawi | From $3,186 | 7 days | Not stated | Budget-minded full itineraries |
| Responsible Travel small-group safari | From $4,599 | 10 days | Not stated | Small-group travelers |
| Scott Dunn's Ultimate Malawi | From $9,000 | 13 days | Not stated | Luxury private travel |
Pumulani Lodge is a Lake Malawi choice with a wide set of included services. Its 2027 rate information includes accommodation, all meals, laundry, bar service, an airport meet-and-greet, and non-motorized activities. Stays of four nights or more include snorkeling.
Mvuu Safari Camp is the clearest low-rate option in the list. Its published rate starts at $335 per person sharing for stays from January 1 to June 30, 2027. That figure is useful for travelers building a shorter Liwonde plan around a camp stay.
Mkulumadzi gives you a clear seasonal price ladder. The rate starts at $485 per person sharing from January 1 to May 21, rises to $545 from May 22 to June 30, and reaches $660 from July 1 to September 30, 2027.
Discover Africa Malawi tours start at $2,005, with a comparison price of $2,135. The duration varies, so check the route and inclusions before treating this as a direct lodge comparison.
African Budget Safaris lists a 7-day Southern Malawi tour from $3,186. Responsible Travel lists a 10-day small-group safari from $4,599. These options suit people who want a planned route instead of arranging each lodge and transfer alone.
Scott Dunn's Ultimate Malawi costs from $9,000 for August 2027. The guideline price assumes two people sharing, and the listed deposit starts at $2,300. Special offers and peak travel periods can change the final cost.
Quest Lodges and Safari also lists a 13-day Best of Malawi trip from $6,600. It gives travelers another long-route comparison beside the luxury Scott Dunn option.
Ready to compare the budget before choosing a camp? Compare Malawi safari lodge packages and 2027 prices on SafariFind, then read verified traveler reviews.
Why do Malawi safari lodge rates differ?
Malawi safari lodge rates differ because the prices cover different products. A per-person sharing rate usually describes a stay at one property. A package rate may cover several lodges, road transfers, park activities, guides, meals, and a set number of travel days. Compare what the rate buys, not only the headline number.
Price range and inclusions
Mvuu Safari Camp starts at $335 per person sharing for part of 2027. Mkulumadzi starts at $485 during its January to May 21 period. These lower figures do not equal the cost of a full seven-day holiday. You still need to check transport, park fees, flights, and any nights outside the lodge.
Pumulani Lodge includes more than a room. Its listed inclusions cover meals, laundry, bar service, airport meet-and-greet, and non-motorized activities such as fishing, sailing, nature walks, sunset cruises, and kayaking. Four-night stays also include snorkeling.
Pumulani Lodge excludes visas and airport taxes. The rate information lists a $10 departure tax per person for domestic flights and a $46 tax for international departures from Lilongwe. Keep those charges in your budget.
Seasonal changes
Mkulumadzi shows why travel dates matter. Its listed 2027 rate rises from $485 before May 22 to $545 from May 22 to June 30. It then reaches $660 from July 1 to September 30. A date change can add $175 per person compared with the lowest listed period.
Package prices also change with trip length. A 7-day Southern Malawi tour starts at $3,186, while a 10-day small-group tour starts at $4,599. The extra days may add parks, lake time, transfers, and guide services. Ask for a full day-by-day quote before you decide.
What your budget can buy
- About $335 to $660: A published per-person sharing lodge rate at Mvuu or Mkulumadzi for selected 2027 dates.
- About $2,005 to $2,135: A Discover Africa Malawi tour price range, with duration and inclusions to confirm.
- About $3,186: A 7-day Southern Malawi tour from African Budget Safaris.
- About $4,599: A 10-day small-group safari listed by Responsible Travel.
- About $6,600: A 13-day Best of Malawi trip from Quest Lodges and Safari.
- About $9,000: Scott Dunn's 13-day style luxury option for August 2027, based on two people sharing.
For a closer quote based on your dates, request prices from verified Malawi safari operators and compare what each quote includes. This is the best way to avoid treating a room-only rate like a complete holiday price.
How should you plan a 2027 Malawi lodge trip?
Start by choosing the trip style, then match the lodge and route to it. Use a single camp for a focused park visit, or select a multi-stop package for lake time, wildlife, and road travel. Confirm the exact dates, sharing basis, taxes, meals, park fees, and transfers before paying a deposit.
Step 1: Pick the main experience
Liwonde is a strong starting point for travelers comparing Mvuu Safari Camp and other Liwonde National Park safari packages. Majete suits travelers comparing Mkulumadzi and southern routes. Lake Malawi suits guests who want time on the water, quiet days, and included non-motorized activities.
Travelers who want a longer holiday can pair a park with lake destinations. Look at Likoma Island beach packages if an island stay fits your route. You can also compare a wider country itinerary rather than forcing every night into one lodge.
Step 2: Match the budget
Set a total budget before you compare lodge names. For a lower-cost plan, begin with the published Mvuu or Mkulumadzi rates. For a guided route, compare the $3,186 seven-day tour with the $4,599 ten-day small-group option. For high-end travel, use the $9,000 Scott Dunn figure as a starting point, not a guaranteed final quote.
Leave room for charges outside the headline rate. Pumulani's information excludes visas and airport taxes, including the listed $10 domestic departure tax and $46 international departure tax from Lilongwe. Other packages may list different exclusions.
Step 3: Check access and activities
Ask how you reach each lodge. Confirm airport transfers, road transfers, internal flights, boat transfers, and the time spent moving between properties. A low room rate loses value if it leaves you to arrange costly transport at the last minute.
Check the activity list as well. Pumulani includes fishing, sailing, nature walks, sunset cruises, and kayaking in its listed non-motorized activities. A four-night stay includes snorkeling. Liwonde walking trips require a different plan, so read the guide to Liwonde walking safari prices and permits before booking that activity.
Step 4: Book with clear records
Ask each operator for a written quote. It should show the lodge name, room basis, dates, meals, activities, transfers, park fees, taxes, deposit, cancellation rules, and balance date. Then compare like with like. A cheap quote can look less attractive after missing services are added.
Book early for 2027 if your dates are fixed. Published prices do not guarantee room availability. SafariFind lets you compare verified operators, package details, and authentic reviews in one place. That makes the final choice less of a guessing game.
Use the same check for southern routes. The guide to Majete three-day safari prices can help you judge whether a short lodge stay fits your wider plan.
What should you check before booking?
Check the rate basis first. "Per person sharing" means the listed amount assumes shared accommodation. Confirm the single supplement if you travel alone. Then check whether the price covers meals, activities, transfers, park fees, taxes, and flights. These details can change the real cost more than the lodge name.
Booking checklist
- Write down your 2027 travel dates and the number of travelers.
- Ask whether the rate is per room, per person sharing, or per group.
- Confirm the currency and whether the quote is a guideline.
- List included meals, laundry, drinks, activities, and airport transfers.
- Check visas, airport taxes, park fees, and internal transport.
- Read the cancellation terms before paying the deposit.
- Compare recent reviews from verified travelers on SafariFind.
Scott Dunn's $9,000 price is a useful example of why the wording matters. The price is a guideline, assumes two people sharing, and applies to August 2027. The deposit starts at $2,300. Treat it as a planning figure until the operator confirms your dates and final inclusions.
Travelers with a firm ceiling should say so in the first message. Tell the operator whether your limit includes flights, taxes, and transfers. Then ask for two versions, one with the lowest practical rate and one with the best upgrade. This gives you a clear choice without hiding costs.
Use the same care for city stays and add-on days. Travelers starting in Lilongwe can compare Lilongwe day trips and safari costs. Travelers adding the north can research Livingstonia Beach, but should ask the operator to price the extra transfer separately.
Finally, do not choose on price alone. A lodge with included meals and activities may cost more per night but save planning time. A cheaper camp can work well when you already have transport and a short route. The right choice is the one that fits your days, budget, and travel style.
Key takeaways
- Compare Mvuu's $335 starting rate with Mkulumadzi's $485 starting rate to find a lower-cost 2027 lodge stay.
- Choose a 7-day package from $3,186 when you want a planned Southern Malawi route.
- Allow for Pumulani's listed $10 domestic or $46 international departure tax when building your budget.
- Check Mkulumadzi's travel dates because its rate rises from $485 to $660 per person sharing.
- Request a written quote before paying the $2,300 Scott Dunn deposit for an August 2027 luxury trip.
Frequently asked questions
How much do Malawi safari lodges cost in 2027?
Malawi safari lodge prices range from $335 per person sharing at Mvuu Safari Camp to $9,000 for Scott Dunn's Ultimate Malawi. Full tours sit between those figures, including a 7-day trip from $3,186 and a 10-day small-group safari from $4,599.
Which Malawi safari lodge is the cheapest?
Mvuu Safari Camp has the lowest listed 2027 rate at $335 per person sharing for January 1 to June 30. This is a lodge rate, not a full holiday price. Check transport, park fees, meals, and extra nights before comparing it with a package.
What does Pumulani Lodge include?
Pumulani Lodge's listed rate includes accommodation, all meals, laundry, bar service, airport meet-and-greet, and non-motorized activities. These activities include fishing, sailing, nature walks, sunset cruises, and kayaking. Stays of four or more nights include snorkeling.
When is Mkulumadzi cheapest in 2027?
Mkulumadzi is cheapest from January 1 to May 21, 2027, when the listed rate starts at $485 per person sharing. The rate rises to $545 from May 22 to June 30 and $660 from July 1 to September 30.
Is a Malawi safari package better than booking one lodge?
A Malawi safari package is better when you want transfers, guides, several parks, or a fixed route arranged together. Booking one lodge works well for a focused stay. Compare the $335 Mvuu rate with full packages from $3,186, then check every inclusion.
Conclusion
Seven Malawi safari lodge options give 2027 travelers a clear spread of prices. Mvuu starts at $335 per person sharing, while Mkulumadzi starts at $485 in its lowest listed period. Pumulani suits travelers who value meals and lake activities in one rate. Longer tours start at $3,186, and Scott Dunn's luxury option starts at $9,000 for August 2027.
Choose a lodge rate when you already understand your transport and park plans. Choose a full package when you want one operator to manage the route. Read the exclusions, confirm the sharing basis, and ask for a written 2027 quote before paying.
When you are ready, compare verified safari packages on SafariFind, read authentic reviews, and request a quote that matches your dates. SafariFind will help you compare Malawi operators and lodge plans as 2027 availability develops.
Plan Your Safari with SafariFind
These recommendations use real data from SafariFind, where you can compare operators, browse packages, and read verified traveler reviews before you book.
What Travelers Say (SafariFind Reviews)
References
- Best Safari Lodges in Malawi: 2027 Rates by Budget
- Robin Pope Safaris 2027 rates PDF
- Malawi Safari: 13-Day the Best of Malawi rates
- Scott Dunn, Ultimate Malawi
- Malawi Safari Cost 2027
- Mvuu Safari Camp rates
- Mkulumadzi rates
- Robin Pope Safaris, Best of Malawi
V2Ui.sources
Related to
Ready to start your safari adventure?
Explore curated safari packages and find your perfect African adventure with verified operators.


