South Africa Walking Safari Packages 2027: Prices & Booking
Discover South Africa Walking Safari Packages 2027: Prices & Booking - Expert guide to safari tourism and wildlife destinations.

South Africa Walking Safari Packages 2027: Prices & Booking
Last updated: August 2026
One listed South Africa walking safari for 2027 costs US$4,620 per person before flights, with departures in April and August.
South Africa Walking Safari Packages 2027: Prices & Booking start at US$4,620 per person for a listed itinerary, excluding flights. The available departures are 17 April and 21 August 2027. Walking safaris suit travelers who want close wildlife tracking, expert guides, and time in private reserves or national parks. Compare verified options on SafariFind before you book.
At a glance
- Cost: US$4,620 per person for one listed 2027 walking safari, excluding flights
- Listed departures: 17 April and 21 August 2027
- Other 2027 dates: 18 to 28 July 2027 for the Cottey College program
- Package supply: Seven walking-safari packages are listed for Kruger National Park
- Best for: Travelers who want guided walks, game drives, and close wildlife tracking
- Wildlife highlights: Big Five viewing opportunities on selected itineraries
Introduction
South Africa Walking Safari Packages 2027: Prices & Booking give you a clear way to plan a guided walking trip in southern Africa. The current price point is US$4,620 per person, excluding flights, for one listed 2027 itinerary. That figure gives you a useful starting point, but it does not represent every operator or route.
Walking safaris differ from vehicle-only trips. You follow an experienced guide on foot, read tracks in the soil, and move at a slower pace. Many programs also add morning or evening game drives. That mix gives you two ways to explore the bush.
South Africa has several safari areas that can fit this style of travel. The SafariFind catalog includes destinations such as South Africa, Kruger National Park, and private reserves near the country’s east coast. You can compare tour operators, package details, and authentic traveler reviews in one place.
Quick answer: A South Africa walking safari in 2027 costs US$4,620 per person on the listed example, excluding flights. The listed departures are 17 April and 21 August. Another program runs from 18 to 28 July. Check what the price includes, then confirm space before paying a deposit.
What are South Africa walking safari packages in 2027?
South Africa walking safari packages in 2027 combine guided bush walks with wildlife viewing in reserves and national parks. The main listed price is US$4,620 per person, excluding flights, and the booking page names departures on 17 April and 21 August 2027. Each operator sets its own route, group size, lodging, meals, and activities.
How a walking safari works
A walking safari puts your guide in charge of pace and distance. You may stop to examine tracks, plants, dung, or broken branches. These details help explain where animals moved and what happened before you arrived. The experience feels quieter than a drive, but it also demands attention and patience.
Walking time does not always replace game drives. The Cottey College South Africa program, scheduled for 18 to 28 July 2027, includes sunrise and sunset game drives in private reserves and national parks. The same program offers opportunities to see the Big Five.
Private reserves often provide more flexible wildlife viewing rules than public parks, but every walk follows guide safety rules. Ask how many people join each walk. Also ask how long guests usually walk, what happens during hot weather, and whether the guide carries emergency equipment.
Known for
- Tracking wildlife at ground level with a trained walking guide.
- Combining bush walks with sunrise and sunset game drives on selected trips .
- Access to private reserves and national parks on different itineraries.
- Big Five viewing opportunities on programs such as the Cottey College itinerary .
Why the format matters
Walking safaris give you a stronger sense of distance, sound, and animal behavior. You notice small signs that a vehicle can pass without seeing. That benefit comes with limits. Walks may suit active travelers better than guests who need frequent rest or easy access to a vehicle.
Kruger National Park is one useful place to compare. A booking marketplace lists seven walking-safari packages there, giving travelers several package formats to review. SafariFind also lists the park as a destination, so you can examine available safari choices beyond one fixed departure.
Compare South Africa walking safari packages for 2027 and review available trip options.
How much do South Africa walking safari packages cost?
A listed South Africa walking safari costs US$4,620 per person in 2027, excluding flights. The same listing shows departures on 17 April and 21 August, and the August departure had eight spaces when the research was collected. Prices and space can change, so treat this figure as a live planning guide, not a guaranteed quote.
Price range and package comparisons
Adventure Life lists 23 South Africa wildlife safari tours for 2026 and 2027. Those trips last 9 to 22 days and start at US$4,489. This wider figure covers wildlife safari tours, not only walking safaris. Therefore, you should not compare the US$4,489 starting price directly with the US$4,620 walking-safari listing.
| Name | Price | Duration | Rating | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Listed South Africa walking safari | US$4,620 per person, excluding flights | Not stated in the source listing | Not stated | Travelers seeking a dedicated walking-safari departure |
| Cottey College South Africa program | Not stated | 11 days, 18 to 28 July 2027 | Not stated | Guests wanting game drives and Big Five opportunities |
| Kruger walking-safari listings | Check current package price | Varies by package | Check current listing | Travelers comparing seven Kruger options |
| South Africa wildlife safari tours | From US$4,489 | 9 to 22 days | Not stated | Travelers comparing wider wildlife itineraries |
What to check before comparing prices
Flights sit outside the US$4,620 walking-safari price. Ask whether the package includes airport transfers, internal transport, accommodation, meals, park fees, guide services, and travel insurance. A low headline price can look less attractive after you add excluded costs.
Also check the walking plan. A trip with one short bush walk and several drives is different from a walking-focused itinerary. Neither format is automatically better. The right choice depends on how much time you want on foot.
Departure dates can affect your choice. The current listing names 17 April and 21 August 2027. The August departure showed eight spaces when researchers collected the data, but availability changes as travelers book.
Request a quote from verified safari operators for a 2027 walking safari budget.
Useful price research
Travelers planning near Kruger can also read SafariFind’s guide to Hazyview safari costs in 2027. Hazyview is a common planning point for Kruger trips, but each quote still needs a full inclusions list. You can then compare the final total, not only the advertised rate.
Where can you book a walking safari in South Africa?
You can book a walking safari in South Africa through listed departures, private reserve operators, and Kruger-area package providers. Kruger has seven walking-safari packages listed on one booking marketplace, while other South African programs combine walking, game drives, and private-reserve stays. SafariFind helps you compare the available destination and operator choices.
Kruger National Park
Kruger National Park is a strong starting point for travelers who want several walking options in one major safari area. The current research identifies seven walking-safari packages there. Before booking, check whether each package uses guided walks as its main activity or adds a walk to a drive-based trip.
Kruger planning also involves park costs and transport choices. SafariFind’s guide to Kruger National Park 2027 entry fees and safari costs can help you build a more complete budget. Read the operator terms beside that information, since package prices may handle fees in different ways.
Private reserves and other areas
Phinda Private Game Reserve is one destination to investigate when you want a private-reserve setting. Hluhluwe-iMfolozi Game Reserve gives you another South African reserve to compare. Ask each operator whether guided walking forms part of the advertised package.
KwaZulu-Natal planning can also include Tembe Elephant Park, iSimangaliso Wetland Park, and uMkhuze Game Reserve. These destinations broaden your search, but they do not all represent the same walking format. Confirm the activity list before you compare them with a dedicated walking safari.
Travelers who want a coastal add-on can research Durban and Kosi Bay. Travelers seeking a far northwest route can review Mapungubwe National Park. The first step is to match the area with your time, activity needs, and transport plan.
How to judge an operator
- Read recent, authentic reviews before you request a quote.
- Check the guide’s walking experience and safety plan.
- Ask for the group size and typical walking distance.
- Confirm lodging, meals, transfers, park fees, and flights.
- Review the cancellation terms for a 2027 departure.
SafariFind connects travelers with verified tour operators and package listings. Use the catalog to compare tour operators, read authentic reviews from previous travelers, and request details before you choose.
How do you plan and book a 2027 walking safari?
Start by choosing your walking style, travel dates, and total budget. Then compare the itinerary, guide service, lodging, transport, and included fees. A 2027 booking should also confirm space in writing, since the 21 August listing had eight spaces when researchers collected the information.
Step 1: Choose your dates
The listed walking-safari departures are 17 April and 21 August 2027. The Cottey College program runs from 18 to 28 July 2027. These dates give you clear starting points for planning, but they are not a full calendar of every South Africa walking safari.
Ask operators for dates that match your leave. If you need school-holiday travel or a fixed flight schedule, request availability early. A confirmed departure matters more than a vague promise that a trip will run.
Step 2: Match the route to your fitness
Walking safaris need a basic level of fitness. Ask how long walks last and whether the guide can shorten the route. Ask about heat, uneven ground, footwear, and what happens if you feel tired. These questions are practical, not fussy. They help you enjoy the trip safely.
Some packages focus on walking. Others use walks as one activity beside drives. Read the daily plan closely. The words "walking safari" should not hide a drive-heavy schedule.
Step 3: Check what the price includes
Request a written list of inclusions. The US$4,620 listing excludes flights. Your quote should state whether it includes lodging, meals, transfers, guide services, park fees, and activities. It should also show any required single-room supplement or local payment.
Compare the final quote against the package headline. You can use SafariFind’s guide to what South Africa safari packages include in 2027 as a checklist. Then ask the operator to explain every missing item.
Step 4: Prepare for the bush
- Pack firm, closed walking shoes with good grip.
- Use light clothing that covers your arms and legs.
- Carry sun protection, water, and a small day bag.
- Bring binoculars and a camera with a quiet strap.
- Follow the guide’s instructions around wildlife.
Step 5: Compare the full itinerary
Look at the number of walking days, drive times, and lodge changes. A longer route can offer more variety, but it also adds travel time. Adventure Life lists wildlife tours lasting 9 to 22 days, with prices starting at US$4,489. Use that data as a wider comparison point, not as a walking-safari quote.
For a Kruger trip, read SafariFind’s guide to Kruger night drive packages for 2027 if you want to add an evening activity. A night drive changes the trip’s pace and wildlife focus, so include it only when it fits your plan.
What should you expect from the booking process?
Expect the booking process to include a date check, itinerary review, deposit request, and written confirmation. A good quote names the operator, departure date, price, inclusions, exclusions, and cancellation terms. SafariFind gives you a place to compare listings before you contact a verified operator.
Questions to ask before paying
- Is the 2027 departure guaranteed?
- How many spaces remain today?
- How many guests join each walking group?
- How many hours do guests spend walking?
- What happens if weather or park rules change the walk?
- Does the price include flights or airport transfers?
- Which reserve or park does each night use?
- What deposit and cancellation rules apply?
Ask for answers by email. Written details make it easier to compare two quotes. They also reduce confusion when several family members help plan the trip.
Booking timeline for 2027
August 2026 is a sensible time to research 2027 walking safari packages. Start with the April, July, and August dates already identified in current listings. Next, compare available routes and request quotes. Finally, confirm space, check travel documents, and pay only after you understand the terms.
Do not treat a displayed space count as permanent. The August listing showed eight spaces when the research was collected, but availability and price can change. Recheck the date before booking flights or arranging connecting travel.
Image and accessibility planning
Ask whether the camp, vehicle, and walking route suit your needs. Operators can explain ground conditions better than a short package title. If you need a slower pace, say so before you pay.
Suggested image alt text includes "guided walking safari in a South African private game reserve," "safari guide showing animal tracks in Kruger National Park," and "travelers on a sunrise game drive in South Africa." Clear alt text helps screen readers and gives search engines useful context.
For a longer trip, compare this guide with the 10-day South Africa safari itinerary for 2027. It can help you decide whether a walking-focused trip or a wider route suits your time.
Key takeaways
- Set aside US$4,620 per person for the listed 2027 walking safari, excluding flights.
- Check 17 April and 21 August 2027 first, then confirm space before booking travel.
- Compare the 18 to 28 July Cottey College program if sunrise and sunset drives matter.
- Review seven Kruger walking-safari listings when you want more than one package choice.
- Request a written inclusions list and compare verified operators on SafariFind before paying.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a South Africa walking safari cost in 2027?
A listed South Africa walking safari costs US$4,620 per person in 2027, excluding flights. The price comes from a current listing with departures on 17 April and 21 August 2027. Check the latest quote because availability and pricing can change.
What dates are available for a South Africa walking safari in 2027?
The listed walking-safari departures are 17 April and 21 August 2027. A separate Cottey College South Africa program runs from 18 to 28 July 2027. These dates are confirmed in the cited program and booking information, but they do not show every available departure.
Does the US$4,620 safari price include flights?
No. The listed US$4,620 South Africa walking safari price excludes flights. Ask the operator whether airport transfers, internal transport, accommodation, meals, park fees, and guide services are included before you compare the total cost.
Where can I find walking safaris in South Africa?
Kruger National Park has seven walking-safari packages listed on one booking marketplace. South Africa also has private-reserve and national-park programs that combine walks with game drives. Compare the activity plan carefully, because a drive-based safari with one walk differs from a dedicated walking trip.
Can I see the Big Five on a walking safari?
Some South Africa safari programs offer opportunities to see the Big Five. The Cottey College itinerary includes Big Five opportunities, plus sunrise and sunset game drives in private reserves and national parks. Wildlife sightings are never guaranteed, so check the operator’s exact itinerary.
How do I book a South Africa walking safari through SafariFind?
Use SafariFind to compare verified tour operators, review package details, and read authentic traveler reviews. Request a quote for your dates, then confirm the price, spaces, inclusions, and cancellation terms directly with the operator before paying.
Conclusion
South Africa walking safari packages in 2027 start at US$4,620 per person for the listed itinerary, excluding flights. The named departures are 17 April and 21 August, while the Cottey College program runs from 18 to 28 July. Kruger offers seven listed walking-safari choices, so you have more than one format to consider.
Choose the dedicated walking departure if tracking and time on foot are your main goals. Choose a mixed itinerary if you want walks plus sunrise and sunset drives. In either case, check the guide service, group size, walking time, and full price before you commit.
Compare verified South Africa walking safari packages on SafariFind, read authentic reviews, and request a quote from a verified operator. In 2027, careful planning will help you spend more time in the bush and less time sorting out hidden costs.
Plan Your Safari with SafariFind
These recommendations use real data from SafariFind, where you can compare operators, browse packages, and read verified traveler reviews before you book.
Recommended Safari Operators from SafariFind
Top Safari Packages from SafariFind
What Travelers Say (SafariFind Reviews)
References
- Cottey Safari: South Africa, Cottey College
- How Much Does a South Africa Walking Safari Cost in 2027?, SafariFind
- Walking safari in South Africa, Responsible Travel
- Walking Safaris in Kruger National Park, South Africa, BookAllSafaris
- 23 South Africa Wildlife Safari Tours for 2026-2027, Adventure Life
V2Ui.sources
Related to
Ready to start your safari adventure?
Explore curated safari packages and find your perfect African adventure with verified operators.


