Khwai Walking Safaris in 2027: What a Package Costs
Discover Khwai Walking Safaris in 2027: What a Package Costs - Expert guide to safari tourism and wildlife destinations.

Khwai Walking Safaris in 2027: Package Costs Guide
Last updated: October 2026
A Khwai safari can cost US$495 per person per night in the green season, while premium camps reach US$1,500.
Khwai walking safaris in 2027 combine guided walks, game drives, and wild camping in Botswana's Khwai community area. Listed classic Khwai and Moremi tented camps cost about US$700 to US$1,200 per person per night, while Camp Khwai lists US$495 for the green season. The dry months usually offer the best game viewing, but December to March can lower camp rates.
At a glance
- Cost: US$700 to US$1,200 per person per night for listed classic Khwai and Moremi tented camps
- Lower listed rate: Camp Khwai lists US$495 per person for 1 December 2026 to 31 March 2027
- Best time: May to October for dry conditions and stronger wildlife viewing
- Duration: Four to eight days for a focused Khwai stay or mobile safari circuit
- Best for: Travelers who want walking, night drives, wildlife, and small camp settings
- Wildlife highlights: Elephants, wild dogs, lions, leopards, hippos, and night-active species
Introduction to Khwai walking safaris in 2027
Khwai Walking Safaris in 2027: What a Package Costs depends on the camp, season, trip length, and included activities. The Khwai area sits beside the Khwai River in northern Botswana. It is known for walking, day drives, night drives, and access to the wider Moremi ecosystem.
Khwai walking safaris are guided wildlife trips that place walking at the centre of the experience. You usually spend part of the day on foot and part in a safari vehicle. Some packages also add mokoro trips, mobile camping, or a route toward the Okavango Delta.
The price needs careful reading. One listing puts classic Khwai and Moremi tented camps at about US$700 to US$1,200 per person per night . Camp Khwai lists a lower green-season rate of US$495 from 1 December 2026 to 31 March 2027 . These figures do not describe the same type of stay.
This guide explains what you receive for the money. It also separates camp rates from full safari costs. That distinction matters because flights, transfers, park fees, drinks, and private guiding may sit outside the headline price.
Quick answer: A Khwai walking safari in 2027 costs about US$700 to US$1,200 per person per night at listed classic camps. Camp Khwai lists US$495 in the green season. A mobile eight-day circuit starts at US$4,200 per person sharing, while longer packages can reach US$7,322 per person .
What is a Khwai walking safari in 2027?
Khwai walking safaris in 2027 are guided trips that use the Khwai community area as a base for wildlife walks and vehicle drives. A walking guide leads guests on foot through approved areas, while a professional driver handles longer game-viewing routes. The mix gives you close ground-level tracking and wider wildlife coverage.
Overview
Khwai is known for a strong mix of habitats around the river, floodplains, woodland, and open grassland. These habitats attract elephants, lions, wild dogs, leopards, hippos, and many bird species. Your guide decides the walking route after checking water, tracks, weather, and recent animal activity.
Walking does not mean you spend every hour outside a vehicle. Most packages use a split schedule. You may walk after breakfast, rest during the heat, and take a late afternoon drive. A night drive may add another view of the reserve, but it is not always included in the base package .
Key features
- Guided walking: Short walks focus on tracks, plants, birds, dung, and animal signs.
- Day drives: Vehicle drives cover more ground and improve the chance of finding large animals.
- Night drives: Some packages search for nocturnal species after dark. Confirm this activity before paying .
- Small camps: Tented camps often offer a quieter stay than large lodge properties.
- Flexible routes: Mobile trips can connect Khwai with Moremi and the Okavango Delta fringes.
Khwai walking safaris are best for travelers who enjoy patient wildlife viewing. You need to accept early starts, heat, dust, and long periods of quiet. The reward is a better sense of scale. A lion track in soft sand tells a different story when you follow it on foot.
Compare Khwai walking safari packages and request quotes from verified operators before choosing a camp or route.
Why the experience matters
The walking part changes how you read the bush. You notice broken grass, alarm calls, fresh tracks, and small birds that a fast vehicle ride can miss. Guides also explain how animals use water and cover. That makes the experience feel more active than a standard drive-only trip.
Walking also adds limits. Guides cannot promise a close approach to a large animal. Safety rules control distance, route choice, and group behaviour. A good package values those limits instead of treating them as a problem.
How much does a Khwai walking safari cost in 2027?
A Khwai walking safari costs US$700 to US$1,200 per person per night at listed classic Khwai and Moremi tented camps. Camp Khwai lists US$495 for the green season. Full itineraries cost more because they may include transfers, guides, meals, activities, and several destinations .
Price range by package type
| Name | Price | Duration | Rating | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Camp Khwai green season | US$495 per person per night | Nightly rate | Not stated | Lower-season camp stays |
| Classic Khwai or Moremi tented camp | US$700 to US$1,200 per person per night | Flexible | Not stated | Comfortable walking and game-drive trips |
| Mobile Khwai and Moremi circuit | From US$4,200 per person sharing | Eight days | Not stated | Travelers wanting a wider route |
| Khwai, Gunn's Concession, and Victoria Falls | From US$7,322 per person | 12 days | Not stated | Long multi-stop holidays |
These prices are guides, not one fixed public tariff. Khwai River night-drive packages have no single 2027 price because camps sell different room types, seasons, services, and routes . The same camp can also charge different rates for green, shoulder, and high seasons.
Camp Khwai lists US$495 for the green season from 1 December 2026 to 31 March 2027 . It lists US$567 for November 2026, with a separate shoulder season beginning in April 2027 . Ask the operator for the exact April to June 2027 rate before you book.
A listed eight-day mobile camping circuit costs from US$4,200 per person sharing . The route covers the Khwai community area, different Moremi ecosystems, and the fringes of the Okavango Delta. Mobile camping usually costs less than a high-end permanent camp, but it offers fewer fixed-room comforts.
A 12-day itinerary that includes Khwai, Gunn's Concession, mokoro activities, a Khwai night drive, and Victoria Falls starts at US$7,322 per person . This is a wider holiday price, not a simple Khwai walking rate.
For a closer look at accommodation styles, read this guide to Botswana safari lodges with 2027 prices. Camp style often explains a large share of the final cost.
Compare 2027 Khwai operators by package price, inclusions, and traveler reviews before paying a deposit.
What the price may include
- Accommodation in a tented camp or mobile camp
- Meals and selected drinks
- Guided walks and standard game drives
- Camp staff and a professional safari guide
- Some local transfers between airstrips and camps
What may cost extra
- International flights and regional flights
- Private vehicle hire
- Specialist walking guides
- Night drives when the base package excludes them
- Travel insurance, tips, visas, and personal drinks
- Transfers to or from Maun
How should you plan a Khwai walking safari?
Plan a Khwai walking safari by fixing your budget, season, group size, and walking goals first. Then ask operators to confirm every inclusion in writing. A four-day Khwai stay suits focused wildlife viewing, while an eight-day mobile circuit gives more time across Khwai, Moremi, and nearby Delta areas.
Getting started
- Choose your season. December to March offers the listed green-season rate at Camp Khwai. May to October is often chosen for dry conditions and easier animal tracking.
- Choose your pace. Pick a permanent camp for comfort. Pick mobile camping for a wider route and a simpler bush stay.
- Set your walking goal. Ask how many walks the itinerary includes. Confirm their usual length and group size.
- Check night activities. A night drive is not always part of the base package . Ask whether the operator charges a separate fee.
- Request a full quote. Ask for camp rates, transfers, taxes, park fees, activities, and cancellation terms.
Maun is the main planning point for many Botswana safari routes. Compare transport and trip length in this guide to Maun safari packages for 2027. A short Maun connection can work well with a focused Khwai stay.
Best practices for walking
Wear quiet, neutral clothing and closed shoes with firm grip. Carry water, sun protection, binoculars, and a light rain layer. Follow the guide's instructions without debate. Animals react to movement and sound, so calm behaviour helps the group stay safe.
Walking safaris work best when you stay patient. The guide may stop for ten minutes beside a small track. That pause can reveal a recent leopard trail or a herd moving through thick grass. The walk is about reading the area, not collecting a checklist.
Questions to ask before booking
- How many walking activities are included?
- Does the guide hold specialist walking qualifications?
- What is the usual walking distance each day?
- Is a private vehicle available?
- Is the night drive included or charged separately?
- Does the price include airstrip transfers?
- What happens if floodwater, heat, or animal activity changes the route?
Review the operator's recent feedback before you choose. SafariFind connects travelers with verified tour operators, package details, and authentic traveler reviews. That extra check can expose unclear inclusions before they become an expensive surprise.
Useful route comparisons
Travelers who want more water-based activity can compare Khwai with routes that include the Okavango Delta. Travelers who want a larger elephant area can read about Chobe National Park safari prices and fees. These routes are different, so do not compare their nightly rates without checking the included activities.
Travelers who want a well-known island camp can also read about Chief's Island safari packages in 2027. Khwai usually appeals more to guests who want walking and night activity in one area.
What should you expect from the booking process?
A good Khwai booking quote names the camp, season, room type, activities, transport, and total price. It also states whether the price applies per person sharing or per room. These details matter because the eight-day mobile circuit uses a per-person sharing price, while camp rates often use a nightly per-person figure .
Build a clear quote
Start with your travel dates and preferred walking days. Tell the operator whether you want a private vehicle, a night drive, or a mokoro activity. Then ask for two versions: one with shared services and one with private services.
Ask the operator to state the currency and payment schedule. US dollars and local payments may follow different rules. Keep the written quote, booking terms, and activity list together. If a rate changes for April 2027, the operator should show the new rate rather than use the old green-season number.
Match the package to your travel style
- Budget-focused travelers: Consider green-season dates and mobile camping. Camp Khwai's listed US$495 rate gives a useful starting point .
- Comfort-focused travelers: Compare classic tented camps priced around US$700 to US$1,200 per person per night .
- Active travelers: Ask for repeated walks, longer walking periods, and a walking-trained guide.
- First-time visitors: Choose a package with transfers and clear activity planning.
- Long-trip travelers: Compare the 12-day Khwai and Victoria Falls package from US$7,322 per person .
Do not use the US$1,585 figure as a Khwai price. That amount comes from comparable night-drive planning data for Hwange, not Khwai . It can help frame premium safari planning, but it does not replace a Khwai quote.
Image alt text suggestions
- Guide leading guests on a walking safari beside the Khwai River in Botswana
- Safari vehicle near a Khwai community area water channel at sunset
- Tented camp accommodation for a Khwai walking safari in 2027
- Elephant herd near the Khwai River during a Botswana safari
Key takeaways
- Set a starting budget of US$700 to US$1,200 per person per night for listed classic Khwai and Moremi tented camps .
- Check Camp Khwai's green-season rate of US$495 for stays between 1 December 2026 and 31 March 2027 .
- Choose an eight-day mobile circuit from US$4,200 per person sharing if you want Khwai, Moremi, and Delta fringes .
- Confirm night-drive fees before booking because the activity is not always included in the base package .
- Request a written quote that separates camp nights, walking, transfers, flights, park fees, and private services.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Khwai walking safari cost in 2027?
A Khwai walking safari costs about US$700 to US$1,200 per person per night at listed classic tented camps. Camp Khwai lists US$495 per person for the green season from 1 December 2026 to 31 March 2027 . Full itineraries cost more when they include transfers and other destinations.
What is the cheapest season for a Khwai walking safari?
The green season is the clearest lower-rate option in the available data. Camp Khwai lists US$495 per person per night from 1 December 2026 to 31 March 2027 . Ask for the exact 2027 rate because seasons and prices can change after March.
Are night drives included in Khwai safari packages?
Night drives are not always included in the base Khwai safari package . Ask the operator to state the activity in the itinerary and confirm whether the price includes the vehicle, guide, fees, and transfer back to camp.
How many days do you need for a Khwai walking safari?
Four days can suit a focused Khwai stay, while eight days gives a mobile circuit more time across Khwai, Moremi, and the Okavango Delta fringes . Choose the longer route if you want more camp changes and a wider range of habitats.
Does a Khwai walking safari include flights?
A Khwai walking safari quote does not automatically include international or regional flights. Ask whether airstrip transfers and transport from Maun are included. The operator should list every transfer separately before you make payment.
How can I book a verified Khwai walking safari?
Use SafariFind to compare package prices, review verified tour operators, and request a quote for your dates. Check the walking schedule, night-drive inclusion, season rate, and cancellation terms before booking a 2027 trip.
Conclusion
Khwai walking safaris in 2027 cost about US$700 to US$1,200 per person per night at listed classic tented camps. Camp Khwai lists US$495 for the green season through 31 March 2027 . An eight-day mobile circuit starts at US$4,200 per person sharing, while a 12-day itinerary with Khwai and Victoria Falls starts at US$7,322 .
Choose green-season travel when a lower camp rate matters most. Choose May to October when dry conditions and walking plans matter more. In both cases, ask for a complete quote. Night drives, transfers, private vehicles, and flights may change the final total.
SafariFind helps you compare verified operators, read authentic reviews, and check package details in one place. Compare verified Khwai walking safari packages for 2027 and request your quote. Start planning in October 2026 while your preferred camp dates remain open for the 2027 season.
Plan Your Safari with SafariFind
These recommendations use real data from SafariFind, where you can compare operators, browse packages, and read verified traveler reviews before you book.
Recommended Safari Operators from SafariFind
Top Safari Packages from SafariFind
What Travelers Say (SafariFind Reviews)
References
- Khwai River Night Drive Packages 2027: Prices and Booking
- Top 10 Best Botswana Safari Packages 2026-2027
- Top Botswana Budget Safari Trips and Packages 2026/2027
- Camp Khwai Rates
- Best Walking Safaris in Khwai, Botswana for 2026/2027
- Five-Day Boteti, Moremi Game Reserve and Khwai Safari
- How Much Does an African Safari Cost?
- Ker and Downey Botswana Rates 2027
V2Ui.sources
- Khwai River Night Drive Packages 2027: Prices and Booking
- Top 10 Best Botswana Safari Packages 2026-2027
- Top Botswana Budget Safari Trips and Packages 2026/2027
- Camp Khwai Rates
- Best Walking Safaris in Khwai, Botswana for 2026/2027
- Five-Day Boteti, Moremi Game Reserve and Khwai Safari
- How Much Does an African Safari Cost?
- Ker and Downey Botswana Rates 2027
Related to
Ready to start your safari adventure?
Explore curated safari packages and find your perfect African adventure with verified operators.














