Gorongosa Safari Costs 2027: Entry Fees, Seasons and Booking
Discover Gorongosa Safari Costs 2027: Entry Fees, Seasons and Booking - Expert guide to safari tourism and wildlife destinations.

Gorongosa Safari Costs 2027: Fees, Seasons & Booking
Last updated: August 2026
One September 2027 Gorongosa photo safari is listed at US$9,950 per person sharing, before you add personal travel costs.
Gorongosa Safari Costs 2027: Entry Fees, Seasons and Booking depend on the camp, travel dates, and trip length. Published 2027 rates include about US$900 to US$1,150 per person per night at Chicari Camp, while Muzimu Lodge starts at US$950 per person per night. April to November has published camp rates, with July to September priced highest.
At a glance
- Cost: US$900 to US$1,150 per person per night at Chicari Camp in listed 2027 seasons.
- Photo safari price: US$9,950 per person sharing for a September 2027 Wild-Eye departure.
- Best time: April to June and October to November for Chicari's lower published 2027 rate.
- Peak camp rate: US$1,150 per person per night from 1 July to 30 September at Chicari Camp.
- Best for: Wildlife photographers, luxury safari travelers, and guests seeking a small camp.
- Booking rule: Wild-Eye requires a 50% deposit outside Early Bird promotions.
Introduction
Gorongosa Safari Costs 2027: Entry Fees, Seasons and Booking are easiest to understand when you separate camp rates from full safari packages. A nightly lodge price does not always cover flights, road transfers, park fees, drinks, or special activities. Published offers also use different payment rules.
Gorongosa National Park is in central Mozambique. The park works well for travelers who want a focused wildlife trip rather than a quick stop on a beach holiday. You can compare a photo safari, a private lodge stay, or a longer route that joins Gorongosa with the coast.
As of August 2026, the clearest 2027 prices show a wide gap between a complete photo departure and a per-night camp rate. This guide explains that gap. It also covers seasons, deposits, entry fee questions, transfers, and ways to book with more confidence.
Quick answer: A Gorongosa safari in 2027 starts with published camp rates of US$900 per person per night at Chicari Camp in two listed seasons. July to September rises to US$1,150. Muzimu Lodge starts at US$950 per person per night. A September photo safari is listed at US$9,950 per person sharing.
What are Gorongosa safari costs in 2027?
Gorongosa safari costs in 2027 range from nightly camp rates near US$900 to full photo safari prices near US$10,000 per person. The right figure depends on whether you book accommodation only, a lodge package, or a guided departure with a fixed itinerary. Read the inclusions before comparing prices.
Overview of published prices
Chicari Camp lists US$900 per person per night from 1 April to 30 June and again from 1 October to 30 November 2027. The same camp lists US$1,150 per person per night from 1 July to 30 September. Its rates include accommodation, all meals, and local beverages.
Muzimu Lodge is listed from US$950 per person per night. Travel Weekly also describes Muzimu as a six luxury tent camp and lists Chicari from US$850 in its accommodation overview. These figures help set a guide price, but they do not replace a written quote for your dates.
What a full safari price means
Wild-Eye lists a September 2027 Gorongosa photo safari at US$9,950 per person sharing when paid by credit card. A fixed departure often costs more than multiplying a room rate by the number of nights. It may include a specialist guide, planned activities, group logistics, and transfers that a camp-only rate leaves out.
Gorongosa packages also differ in length. A 10-night Gorongosa and Bazaruto holiday is advertised from 150,000 per person sharing, although the displayed source does not state the currency in the summary. Treat that figure as a package lead, not a direct US dollar comparison.
Compare Gorongosa safari packages and request a quote from verified operators before choosing between a nightly lodge rate and a fixed departure.
Why the price gap matters
A camp rate answers one question: what does one night cost? A safari package answers a larger question: what does the whole trip cost? Flights, transfers, visas, insurance, private vehicle use, park entry, and extra activities can change the final bill.
SafariFind connects travelers with verified tour operators. Use package pages to check inclusions, then read authentic traveler reviews before you send a deposit. This small step can prevent a low nightly price from becoming an expensive final booking.
How do seasons and entry fees affect the price?
Season changes the published Gorongosa safari cost most clearly at Chicari Camp. The 2027 rate is US$900 per person per night in April to June and October to November, then rises to US$1,150 in July to September. Separate park entry fees are not stated in the supplied 2027 rate details.
2027 seasonal rates
| Name | Price | Duration | Rating | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chicari Camp, 1 April to 30 June | US$900 per person per night | Nightly stay | Not stated | Travelers seeking the lower listed 2027 camp rate |
| Chicari Camp, 1 July to 30 September | US$1,150 per person per night | Nightly stay | Not stated | Peak-season lodge travelers |
| Chicari Camp, 1 October to 30 November | US$900 per person per night | Nightly stay | Not stated | Travelers planning a lower listed rate |
| Muzimu Lodge | From US$950 per person per night | Nightly stay | Not stated | Guests who prefer a six-tent luxury lodge |
Chicari Camp is the clearest example of a seasonal price change. A four-night stay at US$900 totals US$3,600 per person before any unlisted costs. The same four nights at US$1,150 total US$4,600. That creates a US$1,000 difference per person.
Entry fees and inclusions
Entry fees need a written answer from the operator. The supplied 2027 camp information confirms accommodation, meals, and local beverages at Chicari, but it does not list a separate park entry charge. Ask whether the quote includes park access, conservation charges, vehicle fees, and guide costs.
Local beverages also have limits in practice, even when a rate includes them. Ask which drinks count. Check whether imported wine, spirits, premium water, or drinks during transfers cost extra. Clear questions matter more than a headline price.
Promotions and free nights
Africa Luxury Escapes advertises a 2027 Gorongosa Safari Explorer offer called Stay 5 Pay 4. Guests who stay five or more nights receive one complimentary night at the camp where they stay longer. Confirm the eligible dates, camp split, taxes, and booking deadline before treating the offer as a saving.
Wild-Eye also states that Early Bird promotions affect its deposit rule. Outside those promotions, the operator requires a 50% deposit to confirm a booking. Early planning may therefore help with both price and availability, but the offer terms control the final result.
Compare tour operators for a Gorongosa safari budget and check current inclusions before you commit to peak-season dates.
How should you book a Gorongosa safari for 2027?
Book a Gorongosa safari by fixing your dates, choosing a camp or package, checking every inclusion, and confirming payment terms in writing. Start at least with the season and length of stay. Then ask the operator for a full cost per person, including park fees and transfers.
Step 1: Choose the trip style
Gorongosa offers different ways to build a trip. A lodge stay suits travelers who want flexible dates and a private pace. A photo safari suits guests who want a set departure and photography support. A combined trip adds beach time in places such as the Bazaruto Archipelago.
Travelers arriving through Beira may need a planned road or air transfer into the park. Travelers building a wider northern route may look at Nampula or Pemba. Confirm each connection with the operator because the supplied rates do not set out transfer schedules.
Step 2: Match dates to your budget
April to June and October to November carry Chicari's lower listed 2027 rate of US$900 per person per night. July to September carries the higher rate of US$1,150. If your dates are flexible, ask for both periods. A simple calendar change can save US$250 per person per night at Chicari.
Five or more nights may qualify for the Stay 5 Pay 4 offer advertised for the Gorongosa Safari Explorer. Request the promotion in the quote. Do not assume it applies to every room, date, or camp combination.
Step 3: Ask for a complete quote
Use this short checklist when you contact an operator:
- Ask for the total price in a named currency.
- Ask whether park entry and conservation fees are included.
- Ask whether road or air transfers are included.
- Ask what meals and drinks the rate covers.
- Ask whether the vehicle is shared or private.
- Ask for the deposit, balance date, and cancellation terms.
- Ask about payment by card, bank transfer, or other methods.
Wild-Eye accepts credit card payments through a secure link shared by its finance team. It also describes direct deposits and EFT or wire payment options. Use the payment method shown on your booking documents, not an informal message from an unknown contact.
Step 4: Plan add-on travel
Gorongosa can form part of a longer Mozambique journey. A beach extension may include Tofo, Barra, or Santa Carolina Island. Travelers who want a separate coast stay can compare the guide to Bazaruto Archipelago beach resort prices for 2027.
A walking trip needs a different budget question. Review the guide to Gorongosa walking safari permit costs and packages if walking is your main goal. Do not assume a lodge safari rate covers a walking permit.
Best booking practice
Save the final quote, deposit receipt, terms, and contact details in one folder. Check the names of travelers and dates twice. SafariFind helps you compare verified operators, package details, and authentic reviews before you make that payment.
What should you know before paying?
Before paying for a 2027 Gorongosa safari, check the currency, deposit, refund terms, inclusions, and transfer plan. Published rates are useful benchmarks, but they are not the same as a final invoice. This matters most when a quote combines two camps or adds beach travel.
Read the fine print
Chicari's published rates include accommodation, all meals, and local beverages. The listed information does not confirm every cost that a traveler may face. Ask about laundry, premium drinks, private guides, special photography support, transfers, and park charges.
Muzimu Lodge starts at US$950 per person per night in the supplied listings. Travel Weekly describes the lodge as six luxury tents. A small camp can suit travelers who value privacy, but the room count alone does not tell you whether a vehicle is shared or private.
Compare like with like
Use the same questions for every operator. Compare the total for the same number of nights, the same room basis, and the same travel dates. A US$900 nightly rate and a US$9,950 photo departure answer different needs, so placing them in one simple ranking would mislead you.
SafariFind package pages can help you sort those differences. Look for the operator name, traveler rating, review count, itinerary, and list of inclusions. Then request a quote if the page does not show the final 2027 price.
Build a safety margin
Keep extra money for costs that the published rate does not name. The safest approach is to ask the operator to mark every item as included, excluded, or payable locally. This gives you a usable trip budget rather than a tempting headline number.
Travelers who add the coast should price each part separately. A route that includes Gorongosa and Bazaruto may look simple, but it can involve more transfers and nights. The guide to Bazaruto Islands tour costs for first-timers can help you think through that second stage.
Image and planning notes
Suggested image alt text can improve access and page search signals:
Chicari Camp luxury tent in Gorongosa National Park in 2027Safari vehicle on a Gorongosa wildlife drive in MozambiqueGorongosa safari guests viewing wildlife near campMap showing Beira to Gorongosa safari transfer route
Keep the alt text factual. Describe what the image shows. Do not fill it with repeated sales terms.
Key takeaways
- Choose April to June or October to November for Chicari's listed US$900 nightly 2027 rate.
- Budget US$1,150 per person per night for Chicari from July to September 2027.
- Use US$9,950 per person sharing as the published benchmark for Wild-Eye's September 2027 photo safari.
- Request written confirmation of park entry fees because the supplied camp rates do not list a separate charge.
- Ask about Stay 5 Pay 4 before booking five or more nights at an eligible camp in 2027.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Gorongosa safari cost in 2027?
A Gorongosa safari costs about US$900 to US$1,150 per person per night at Chicari Camp in published 2027 seasons. Muzimu Lodge starts at US$950 per person per night. A September Wild-Eye photo safari is listed at US$9,950 per person sharing.
What is the cheapest season for a Gorongosa safari?
The lowest published Chicari Camp rate is US$900 per person per night from 1 April to 30 June and 1 October to 30 November 2027. July to September costs US$1,150 per person per night at the same camp.
Are Gorongosa National Park entry fees included?
The supplied 2027 camp rates do not state a separate Gorongosa National Park entry fee. Chicari Camp confirms that accommodation, all meals, and local beverages are included. Ask your operator to list park access and conservation fees separately.
How much deposit do I need for a Gorongosa safari?
Wild-Eye requires a 50% deposit to confirm bookings outside Early Bird promotions. The operator accepts credit card payments through a secure finance link and also lists direct deposit and EFT or wire options.
Can I get a free night on a 2027 Gorongosa safari?
Africa Luxury Escapes advertises a Stay 5 Pay 4 Gorongosa Safari Explorer offer for 2027. Guests staying five or more nights receive one complimentary night at the camp where they stay longer. Confirm the exact terms before booking.
Where can I book a verified Gorongosa safari?
You can use SafariFind to compare verified safari operators, review package details, and read authentic traveler reviews. Find your perfect Gorongosa safari package and request a quote for your 2027 dates.
Conclusion
Gorongosa safari costs in 2027 start at US$900 per person per night for selected Chicari Camp dates. The rate rises to US$1,150 from July to September. Muzimu Lodge starts at US$950, while a September Wild-Eye photo safari is listed at US$9,950 per person sharing.
The best value depends on your trip style. Choose the lower Chicari seasons if your dates can move. Choose a fixed photo safari if expert support and a planned program matter more than a simple nightly rate. Either way, ask for park fees, transfers, drinks, and payment terms in writing.
Gorongosa also pairs well with a Mozambique beach stay. Price that extension as a separate part of the trip, then compare the full total. This makes the choice much clearer.
Compare verified safari packages on SafariFind, read authentic reviews, and request a quote from a verified operator. In 2026, planning early gives you time to match 2027 dates with the right camp, season, and payment plan.
Plan Your Safari with SafariFind
These recommendations use real data from SafariFind, where you can compare operators, browse packages, and read verified traveler reviews before you book.
What Travelers Say (SafariFind Reviews)
References
- Wild-Eye, Gorongosa Photo Safari
- Mozambique Travel, Where to Stay in Gorongosa, 2027 Safari Guide
- Chalo Africa, Chicari Camp Rates, Activities and Amenities
- Africa Luxury Escapes, Gorongosa Safari Explorer
- Kabira Safaris, Mozambique Safari Cost Guide
- Timbuktu Travel, Muzimu Lodge, Gorongosa
- Travel Weekly, Wildlife Viewing and Safaris in Mozambique
- Adeli Kenya Safaris, Safari Planning Information
V2Ui.sources
- Wild-Eye, Gorongosa Photo Safari
- Mozambique Travel, Where to Stay in Gorongosa, 2027 Safari Guide
- Chalo Africa, Chicari Camp Rates, Activities and Amenities
- Africa Luxury Escapes, Gorongosa Safari Explorer
- Kabira Safaris, Mozambique Safari Cost Guide
- Timbuktu Travel, Muzimu Lodge, Gorongosa
- Travel Weekly, Wildlife Viewing and Safaris in Mozambique
- Adeli Kenya Safaris, Safari Planning Information
Related to
Ready to start your safari adventure?
Explore curated safari packages and find your perfect African adventure with verified operators.


