First-Timer's Guide to Kafue Safari Costs and Fees in 2027
Discover First-Timer's Guide to Kafue Safari Costs and Fees in 2027 - Expert guide to safari tourism and wildlife destinations.

First-Timer's Guide to Kafue Safari Costs and Fees in 2027
Last updated: August 2026
This First-Timer's Guide to Kafue Safari Costs and Fees in 2027 explains park charges, lodge rates, package prices, and extra costs in Kafue National Park, Zambia. Kafue entry costs USD 20 per person, while safari tours start from USD 750. Compare package inclusions carefully, especially for trips planned between July and October.
One Kafue park entry fee is only USD 20, but luxury lodge rates can exceed USD 2,000 per person per night.
At a Glance
- Park entry fee: USD 20 per person in 2027
- Extra Busanga fee: USD 10 camping fee may apply
- Safari package starting price: From USD 750
- Luxury price range: About USD 1,100 to USD 2,530 per person per night
- Best planning window: Compare January, March-June, November, and December rates against July-October rates
- Best for: First-time travelers seeking a quieter Zambia safari and flexible wildlife plans
Introduction: What Should First-Time Visitors Budget?
First-Timer's Guide to Kafue Safari Costs and Fees in 2027 is a practical starting point for planning a safari in Zambia. It separates fixed park fees from accommodation, transport, meals, guide services, and optional activities.
Kafue National Park is a large safari destination with different travel styles. A simple package may begin near USD 750. A high-end lodge stay can cost far more. Your final bill depends on season, room type, trip length, transport, and whether you travel alone or share.
Quick answer: A first-time Kafue safari in 2027 starts from about USD 750 for a tour package, while the park entry fee is USD 20 per person. Use lodge benchmarks from 2026 as planning guides, then request a fresh 2027 quote. Confirm whether park fees, transfers, meals, and activities are included.
Prices in this guide use verified research available in August 2026. Some listed rates cover 2026 travel, so they are benchmarks rather than guaranteed 2027 prices. Availability also changes when seasonal camps close.
SafariFind connects travelers with verified tour operators and authentic reviews. You can compare safari packages, inspect inclusions, and request quotes before paying a deposit.
What Is Included in Kafue Safari Costs and Fees?
Kafue safari costs include more than the headline tour price. The clearest way to plan is to split your budget into park access, accommodation, transport, meals, guiding, and optional activities. A package with a higher price may still offer better value when it includes transfers, drinks, game drives, and park fees.
Known for: A separate park entry charge
Kafue National Park lists an entrance fee of USD 20 per person. Visitors to Busanga Plains may also need to pay a USD 10 camping fee. Park officials reportedly request recent United States dollar bills, because older notes may not be accepted . Carry suitable cash and confirm payment rules before departure.
Park fees and package inclusions
Most Kafue safari packages include park fees in their published price . However, you should still ask the operator for an itemized quote. This avoids paying twice and shows whether the price covers every park visit in your itinerary.
- Park entry: USD 20 per person
- Busanga camping fee: USD 10 when applicable
- Accommodation: Lodge, tented camp, or mobile camp rate
- Transport: Road transfers, internal flights, or both
- Activities: Game drives, walking activities, or boat trips where offered
- Meals and drinks: Check whether premium drinks and bottled water cost extra
Children can change the total family budget. Children under five reportedly enter national parks free. Children aged five to thirteen pay 50% of the applicable rate . Ask for the child policy in writing, because accommodation and activity charges may follow different rules.
Compare 2027 Kafue safari packages and check included park fees before choosing an operator.
Why the daily rate can look high
Kafue safari camps often operate far from major towns. A daily rate may cover food, staff, guiding, fuel, camp logistics, and transfers. Therefore, comparing only the room price gives an incomplete picture.
The Kafue lodge rates comparison for 2027 can help you review accommodation styles before requesting a quote.
How Much Does a Kafue Safari Cost in 2027?
A Kafue safari costs from about USD 750 for a starting tour package. Luxury Zambia safari estimates range from USD 1,100 to USD 2,530 per person per night, based on season and luxury level . These figures show why trip length and lodge choice matter more than the USD 20 entry fee.
Price range: From entry-level tours to luxury camps
The USD 750 starting point is useful for first-time planning, but it does not define every itinerary. A shorter trip, shared vehicle, or simpler camp may reduce costs. A private vehicle, premium lodge, internal flight, or single room can increase them.
Ila Safari Lodge provides a useful real-world benchmark. Its listed five-day Kafue itinerary cost USD 2,410 per person sharing and USD 3,370 for a solo traveler during January, March-June, and November-December 2026 . The same itinerary listed USD 3,730 per person sharing and USD 5,220 for a solo traveler during July-October 2026 .
| Name | Price | Duration | Rating | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting Kafue safari tour | From USD 750 | Not stated | Not stated | Budget-led planning |
| Ila Safari Lodge, lower-rate period | USD 2,410 sharing; USD 3,370 solo | 5 days | Not stated | Shared or solo lodge travel |
| Ila Safari Lodge, July-October benchmark | USD 3,730 sharing; USD 5,220 solo | 5 days | Not stated | Peak-season planning |
| Shumba Safari Camp | From USD 1,675 per person per night | Seasonal stay | Not stated | Exclusive luxury travel |
Shumba Safari Camp was listed from USD 1,675 per person per night. The camp operates for only five months each year, which makes seasonal availability a major planning factor . Contact an operator early if you want this type of stay.
Solo travelers should expect a higher per-person cost. The Ila example shows a difference of USD 960 in the lower-rate period and USD 1,490 in the July-October period. Sharing a room and vehicle can therefore make a large difference.
What should you compare before booking?
- Ask whether the quoted amount includes the USD 20 park entry fee.
- Confirm whether the USD 10 Busanga camping fee applies.
- Check if the quote is per person sharing or for solo occupancy.
- Request separate prices for road transfers and flights.
- Check camp opening dates before paying a deposit.
- Read verified traveler reviews before comparing the final price.
Request a 2027 quote from verified Kafue safari operators with your dates, group size, and preferred lodge level.
How Do You Plan Your First Kafue Safari?
Plan your first Kafue safari by fixing your dates, group size, comfort level, and transport needs. Then compare two or three itemized quotes. This order helps you avoid confusing a low base price with a complete safari cost.
Step 1: Choose your travel dates
The listed Ila rates divide the year into two clear price groups. January, March-June, November, and December 2026 carried lower listed rates. July-October carried higher listed rates . Use these periods as a starting point for 2027 planning, but request current rates before booking.
Some camps have short operating seasons. Shumba Safari Camp operates for only five months each year . A camp’s opening period may matter more than a small difference in the park fee.
Step 2: Choose your safari style
Best for: Budget travelers are starting with a package from USD 750. Best for: Couples and families are comparing shared lodge packages with clear child policies. Best for: Luxury travelers are considering high-end camps and private transport.
Walking safaris can add a different experience to a game-drive trip. Read the guide to Kafue walking safari packages, prices, and operators if guided walks interest you.
Step 3: Plan the route and transfer
Getting there: Some visitors reach Kafue by road from Livingstone. One published route description gives an approximate travel time of 2.5 hours from Livingstone, with gravel or hard sand and stone roads inside the park . Your exact transfer time depends on the camp and road conditions.
Many travelers combine a Kafue safari with Victoria Falls. Others begin in Lusaka. Ask the operator to price each transfer separately. This makes the safari quote easier to check.
Step 4: Build a quote checklist
- State your arrival city and departure city.
- Give the exact number of adults and children.
- Ask for sharing and single-room prices.
- Request the camp name and operating dates.
- Confirm park fees and Busanga charges.
- Ask whether recent USD notes are needed for local payments.
- Check cancellation, deposit, and payment terms.
Use the five-day Kafue itinerary and total-cost guide to test whether your route matches your available time. A clear plan helps operators return accurate quotes.
Image suggestions
- Alt text: “Open vehicle on a Kafue National Park game drive in Zambia”
- Alt text: “Luxury tented camp near Busanga Plains in Kafue”
- Alt text: “Safari guide leading a walking safari in Kafue National Park”
What Fees Should First-Time Travelers Watch?
First-time travelers should watch for single supplements, seasonal surcharges, transport costs, and excluded activities. These charges can change the final price more than the national park entry fee. An itemized quote gives you a simple way to spot missing costs.
Important considerations
Single occupancy: Solo travelers often pay more because they do not share room and vehicle costs. The Ila benchmark lists USD 3,370 solo compared with USD 2,410 per person sharing during its lower-rate period .
Peak-season pricing: July-October rates in the Ila listing reached USD 3,730 per person sharing and USD 5,220 for solo travelers . Treat these figures as a planning benchmark for 2027, not a guaranteed quote.
Seasonal camp access: Shumba Safari Camp operates for five months each year . Always match your dates to the camp calendar. A cheaper alternative is not useful if it cannot host you.
Cash payments: Kafue park information reports that officials may request recent United States dollar bills . Carry suitable notes, and ask your operator how park payments work. Do not assume every older bill will be accepted.
Children: Children under five reportedly enter national parks free. Children aged five to thirteen pay 50% of the applicable rate . Confirm the age cut-off and lodge rules before booking family travel.
How to protect your budget
- Compare the complete trip cost, not only the nightly lodge rate.
- Travel with a partner when sharing lowers the per-person price.
- Ask for a 2027 quote that lists every included fee.
- Keep a small cash reserve for park or camping charges.
- Choose a camp with dates that match your preferred season.
- Read authentic reviews about guides, transfers, and camp service.
A well-planned Kafue safari should feel clear before you pay. SafariFind helps you compare tour operators and review package details in one place.
Key Takeaways
- Budget USD 20 per person for Kafue National Park entry in 2027, then confirm package inclusion.
- Add USD 10 when a Busanga Plains camping fee applies, and carry recent USD bills .
- Compare sharing and solo prices because the five-day Ila benchmark differs by USD 960 or more .
- Check July-October rates against January, March-June, November, and December benchmarks before choosing dates .
- Confirm camp opening dates before booking seasonal properties such as Shumba Safari Camp .
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Kafue safari cost in 2027?
A Kafue safari starts from about USD 750 for a tour package. Luxury Zambia safari estimates range from USD 1,100 to USD 2,530 per person per night, based on season and luxury level . Request a current quote because accommodation, transport, and inclusions change the final cost.
How much is the Kafue National Park entrance fee?
The Kafue National Park entrance fee is USD 20 per person. Visitors to Busanga Plains may also pay a USD 10 camping fee . Ask whether your operator already includes these charges in the package price.
What is the best time to book a Kafue safari?
The best time to book a Kafue safari is several months before your preferred 2027 dates. Listed Ila rates were lower in January, March-June, November, and December, while July-October rates were higher . Seasonal camps may also have limited operating periods.
Do children pay Kafue National Park fees?
Children under five reportedly enter national parks free, while children aged five to thirteen pay 50% of the applicable rate . Lodge and activity prices may use separate age rules, so confirm the complete family quote.
Why does a solo Kafue safari cost more?
A solo Kafue safari costs more because one traveler cannot share room and vehicle costs. The Ila five-day benchmark listed USD 3,370 for solo travel and USD 2,410 per person sharing in its lower-rate period .
How can I book a verified Kafue safari in 2027?
You can book through SafariFind by comparing verified tour operators, checking authentic reviews, and requesting quotes for your dates. Share your group size, route, lodge level, and budget so operators can return accurate Kafue safari packages.
Conclusion: Plan With a Complete 2027 Budget
A first-time Kafue safari in 2027 can start from USD 750, while the park entry fee is USD 20 per person . Luxury stays cost much more, with Zambia estimates reaching USD 2,530 per person per night . Your best value comes from comparing the full package rather than one low headline price.
Use the five-day Ila benchmark to understand seasonal differences. Its listed sharing price rose from USD 2,410 to USD 3,730 between lower-rate periods and July-October . Families should also confirm child fees, while luxury travelers should check seasonal camp dates.
Compare transport, meals, activities, park fees, and single supplements in every quote. Read authentic reviews before choosing an operator. Compare verified safari packages on SafariFind and request a clear 2027 itinerary from a trusted operator. With early planning, you can enter 2027 with a realistic Kafue budget and fewer surprises.
References
- 10 Best Safari Tours in Zambia 2026/2027
- Best Zambia Tours and Cruises 2026-2027
- Zambia: 5-day Kafue Safari at Ila Safari Lodge
- Kafue National Park: Safari.com
- Kafue: Khokelo Safaris
- How Much Does a Zambia Safari Cost: Expert Guide 2027
- Best Walking Safari Destinations in Africa for 2026/2027
- Kafue National Park Fees
Plan Your Safari with SafariFind
These recommendations use real data from SafariFind, where you can compare operators, browse packages, and read verified traveler reviews before you book.
Recommended Safari Operators from SafariFind
Recommended Safari Packages from SafariFind
What Travelers Say (SafariFind Reviews)
V2Ui.sources
- 10 Best Safari Tours in Zambia 2026/2027
- Best Zambia Tours and Cruises 2026-2027
- Zambia: 5-day Kafue Safari at Ila Safari Lodge
- Kafue National Park: Safari.com
- Kafue: Khokelo Safaris
- How Much Does a Zambia Safari Cost: Expert Guide 2027
- Best Walking Safari Destinations in Africa for 2026/2027
- Kafue National Park Fees
Related to
Ready to start your safari adventure?
Explore curated safari packages and find your perfect African adventure with verified operators.


