Central Kalahari Game Reserve Safari Cost Guide 2027
Discover Central Kalahari Game Reserve Safari Cost Guide 2027 - Expert guide to safari tourism and wildlife destinations.

Central Kalahari Game Reserve Safari Cost Guide 2027
Last updated: August 2026
A Central Kalahari Game Reserve safari in 2027 costs from about €4,480 per person for a four-night camping trip, while published options range from US$1,080 to US$28,580. A seven-day mobile camping safari starts at AUD 2,600 per person sharing. Compare verified SafariFind packages before reserving accommodation, transport, and park entry.
At a Glance
- Cost: About €4,480 for four nights; published trips range from about US$1,080 to US$28,580.
- Budget guide: Mid-range stays cost US$450–US$700 per person per night.
- Luxury guide: Peak-period desert camps cost US$1,000–US$1,600 or more per person per night.
- Duration: Seven days and six nights for the listed guided mobile camping itinerary.
- Best time to plan: The listed 2027 departures run from January 7 through November 25.
- Getting there: The seven-day mobile camping itinerary starts and ends in Maun.
One seven-day Central Kalahari mobile camping safari starts at AUD 2,600 per person sharing in 2027.
Central Kalahari Game Reserve Safari Cost Guide 2027 is designed for travelers who want clear prices before they book. The reserve offers a remote Botswana safari across dry grasslands, desert landscapes, and open plains. Costs change with camp style, trip length, group size, transport, and travel dates.
This guide separates published prices from planning advice. It covers camping safaris, mid-range lodges, luxury desert camps, park fees, and booking steps. It also shows how the Central Kalahari compares with other Botswana safari choices.
Known for: remote wildlife viewing, wide open desert scenery, black-maned lions, meerkats, and seasonal zebra movements.
Best for: travelers who value quiet landscapes, small groups, guided drives, and a less crowded safari setting.
Quick answer: A Central Kalahari safari in 2027 costs about €4,480 per person for a four-night camping itinerary, based on the current research summary. Published packages also include a seven-day mobile camping trip from AUD 2,600 per person sharing and longer holidays near €7,860 per person.
What Is the Central Kalahari Game Reserve Safari Cost Guide 2027?
Central Kalahari safari cost in 2027 depends mainly on accommodation, nights, vehicle style, and group size. A camping trip gives you the lowest listed entry point, while private desert camps create the highest prices. Travelers should compare the full package, not only the nightly rate.
Overview of the reserve and safari style
The Central Kalahari Game Reserve sits within the wider Kalahari Desert region. Its setting feels very different from the water-rich channels of the Okavango Delta. A Central Kalahari safari focuses on open scenery, desert wildlife, long drives, and a strong sense of distance.
The reserve is also a useful choice for visitors building a wider Botswana itinerary. You can compare a dry-land reserve with water-based areas, salt pans, and northern wildlife parks. The final route depends on your arrival city and the number of nights available.
Key features that shape the price
- Mobile camping: Guided camps move through the landscape and usually offer a structured group experience.
- Mid-range lodging: Fixed camps and lodges add more comfort and often charge US$450–US$700 per person per night.
- Luxury camps: Signature desert camps near the Deception Valley Lodge area cost US$1,000–US$1,600 or more during peak periods.
- Park access: Non-resident adult entry is listed at BWP 190.
- Transport: Remote locations require a road transfer, charter flight, or both, depending on the itinerary.
Why the price guide matters
Central Kalahari costs can look confusing because operators publish prices in different currencies. One small-group holiday is listed at about €1,268 or £1,122 per person. Another listed itinerary reaches about €7,860 or £6,960 per person. These figures show why you must check duration, inclusions, and lodging before comparing offers.
SafariFind connects travelers with verified tour operators and authentic traveler reviews. Compare Central Kalahari safari packages and current 2027 prices before choosing a travel style.
How the Central Kalahari differs from popular search topics
Kruger National Park is a high-volume safari search term, with 14,800 monthly searches in the supplied keyword research. The Central Kalahari offers a different product: fewer urban links, more remote roads, and desert-focused scenery. Yala National Park safari searches also target a different region and wildlife setting, so travelers should compare experiences, not just prices.
How Much Does a Central Kalahari Safari Cost in 2027?
A Central Kalahari safari costs from AUD 2,600 per person sharing for the listed seven-day mobile camping itinerary. Mid-range stays cost US$450–US$700 per person per night, while luxury camps can cost US$1,000–US$1,600 or more during peak periods.
Published price ranges
| Name | Price | Duration | Rating | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Guided mobile camping safari | From AUD 2,600 per person sharing | 7 days / 6 nights | Not stated | Adventure travelers and small groups |
| Small-group Central Kalahari holiday | About €1,268 / £1,122 | Not stated in summary | Not stated | Travelers seeking a lower published package price |
| Longer listed itinerary | About €7,860 / £6,960 | 10 days / 9 nights | Not stated | Longer guided trips and deeper exploration |
| Mid-range desert accommodation | US$450–US$700 per person per night | Flexible | Not stated | Comfort-focused safari travelers |
| Luxury desert camp | US$1,000–US$1,600+ per person per night | Flexible | Not stated | Private luxury and premium service |
What the mobile camping price includes
The listed seven-day itinerary starts and ends in Maun. Its scheduled 2027 departures begin on January 7 and continue through November 25, with several departures listed across the year. The published starting rate applies to January–May and November–December 2027, at AUD 2,600 per person sharing.
Always ask for a written list of inclusions. A lower price may cover camping, guiding, meals, and park access but exclude flights, transfers, drinks, tips, insurance, or pre- and post-safari hotels. A higher quote may include private vehicles, flights, premium rooms, and flexible dates.
Park fees and family costs
Central Kalahari entry fees listed in the current fee summary are BWP 190 for a non-resident adult, BWP 145 for a resident adult, and BWP 20 for a citizen adult. Foreign-registered vehicle entry is listed at BWP 75.
Children aged 8–15 pay 50% of the adult rate, while children under eight enter free under the listed summary. Confirm these charges with your operator because package contracts may bundle fees or apply different billing rules.
How to compare quotes correctly
Compare like with like. Place every quote into the same checklist: nights, room type, group size, vehicle, meals, park fees, transfers, flights, guide, and cancellation terms.
SafariFind helps you compare operators and read authentic reviews before you pay a deposit. Request quotes from verified Central Kalahari safari operators and check which inclusions match your budget.
What Should You Know Before Booking a Central Kalahari Safari?
Booking a Central Kalahari safari starts with choosing your travel dates, accommodation level, and arrival plan. The reserve is remote, so early planning matters. You should confirm deposits, transfers, entry fees, and accommodation availability before making final travel arrangements.
Getting started from Maun
Maun is the start and end point for the listed seven-day, six-night mobile camping itinerary. This makes Maun a practical base for travelers combining the Central Kalahari with other Botswana destinations. Build in time for arrival delays before the first camp departure.
Travelers may also add the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park or the Chobe National Park to a wider route. These additions change the total cost, number of transfers, and ideal trip length.
Choosing the right travel month
The published mobile safari has departures from January 7 through November 25, 2027. That schedule gives travelers several planning windows, but it does not make every date identical. Ask the operator about road conditions, wildlife focus, camp access, and weather for your chosen month.
January through May and November through December show the listed AUD 2,600 starting price for the mobile itinerary. Rates for other months may differ. Treat the starting price as a guide, then request a date-specific quote.
Reserve accommodation early
Central Kalahari accommodation is limited by its remote setting. The research summary advises travelers to reserve accommodation early and confirm deposits. This step protects your preferred camp dates and reduces the risk of building an itinerary around unavailable rooms.
For planning ideas, read the Best Safari Lodges in Botswana 2027 rates guide. Travelers who prefer a water-based extension can also review Moremi Game Reserve safari packages for 2027.
Best practices for a smooth trip
- Set a total budget in one currency before comparing offers.
- Ask whether the price covers park entry and foreign vehicle fees.
- Confirm the deposit amount, payment dates, and refund rules.
- Check if airport transfers and Maun accommodation are included.
- Ask how the operator handles delays, missed connections, and route changes.
- Read verified traveler reviews before selecting an operator.
Useful add-ons and route ideas
Travelers can explore Tau Pan, Ghanzi, or Gcwihaba Caves when an operator offers a suitable route. Each add-on affects driving time and the final package price. Do not assume that a nearby destination fits every safari schedule.
Pack light, use neutral clothing, and bring sun protection. Ask your operator for a complete packing list. Remote camping often requires different luggage limits than a lodge-based safari.
Key Takeaways
- Compare the AUD 2,600 mobile camping starting price with lodge quotes to see the value of each inclusion.
- Budget US$450–US$700 per person per night for mid-range accommodation.
- Prepare for US$1,000–US$1,600 or more per person per night at peak luxury desert camps.
- Confirm the BWP 190 non-resident adult entry fee and BWP 75 foreign vehicle fee.
- Reserve early for 2027 and confirm every deposit before booking flights or extra nights.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Central Kalahari safari cost in 2027?
A Central Kalahari safari costs from AUD 2,600 per person sharing for the listed seven-day mobile camping itinerary. Other published options include about €1,268 for a small-group holiday, while a longer itinerary is listed near €7,860 per person. Lodge rates range from US$450 to US$1,600 or more per person nightly.
What is the cheapest Central Kalahari safari option?
The listed seven-day mobile camping safari has a starting price of AUD 2,600 per person sharing for selected 2027 dates. The published price applies to January–May and November–December departures. Confirm the exact inclusions, because flights, transfers, insurance, and extra hotel nights may cost more.
When is the best time to visit Central Kalahari Game Reserve?
The best booking window depends on your target month and safari style. The listed 2027 mobile camping departures run from January 7 through November 25, with several dates across the year. Ask your operator about wildlife aims, road conditions, camp access, and weather before choosing dates.
How long should a Central Kalahari safari last?
A seven-day, six-night safari gives travelers a clear starting point for Central Kalahari planning. The listed guided mobile camping itinerary starts and ends in Maun. Longer holidays, including a listed 10-day, nine-night itinerary, suit travelers who want more time in the region.
How much are Central Kalahari park entry fees?
The listed fee summary charges BWP 190 for a non-resident adult, BWP 145 for a resident adult, and BWP 20 for a citizen adult. Foreign-registered vehicle entry is BWP 75. Children aged 8–15 pay half the adult rate, while children under eight are free under that summary.
How can I book a verified Central Kalahari safari?
SafariFind connects travelers with verified tour operators, safari packages, and authentic reviews. Compare package inclusions, read traveler feedback, and request a date-specific quote before paying a deposit. Find your perfect Central Kalahari safari package on SafariFind.
Conclusion: Plan Your 2027 Central Kalahari Safari
A Central Kalahari safari in 2027 costs from AUD 2,600 per person sharing for the listed seven-day mobile camping trip. Mid-range stays cost US$450–US$700 per person per night, while peak luxury desert camps reach US$1,000–US$1,600 or more.
Start with your dates, then compare camping, mid-range, and luxury options. The listed departures run from January 7 through November 25, 2027, and start and finish in Maun. Reserve accommodation early and confirm deposits before booking flights.
Use SafariFind to compare verified operators, review real traveler feedback, and request quotes that show every inclusion. Consider adding another Botswana destination only after checking the extra transfer time and cost. Compare verified Central Kalahari safari packages for 2027 and take the next step toward a well-planned desert adventure in 2027.
Image Alt Text Suggestions
- Central Kalahari Game Reserve safari vehicle crossing open desert grassland in Botswana
- Mobile camping tents during a Central Kalahari safari in Botswana
- Black-maned lion in the Central Kalahari Game Reserve
- Meerkat standing on the Kalahari Desert plains
- Safari travelers arriving in Maun for a seven-day Botswana itinerary
Plan Your Safari with SafariFind
These recommendations use real data from SafariFind, where you can compare operators, browse packages, and read verified traveler reviews before you book.
Recommended Safari Operators from SafariFind
Recommended Safari Packages from SafariFind
What Travelers Say (SafariFind Reviews)
References
- The Best of Botswana: An In-Depth Safari Experience
- Central Kalahari Game Reserve Safari Cost 2027: Booking
- How Much Does a Botswana Safari Cost in 2027?
- Central Kalahari Game Reserve Holidays 2026/2027
- Central Kalahari Game Reserve Holidays 2026/2027
- Central Kalahari Game Reserve: Best Time to Visit 2026 | 2027
- 7 Days / 6 Nights Kalahari Safari: Adventure Guided Mobile Camping Safari
- Luxury Central Kalahari Game Reserve Safaris for 2026/2027
V2Ui.sources
- The Best of Botswana: An In-Depth Safari Experience
- Central Kalahari Game Reserve Safari Cost 2027: Booking
- How Much Does a Botswana Safari Cost in 2027?
- Central Kalahari Game Reserve Holidays 2026/2027
- Central Kalahari Game Reserve Holidays 2026/2027
- Central Kalahari Game Reserve: Best Time to Visit 2026 | 2027
- 7 Days / 6 Nights Kalahari Safari: Adventure Guided Mobile Camping Safari
- Luxury Central Kalahari Game Reserve Safaris for 2026/2027
Related to
Ready to start your safari adventure?
Explore curated safari packages and find your perfect African adventure with verified operators.


