Zambia Safari Cost 2027: What a 10-Day Trip Includes
Discover Zambia Safari Cost 2027: What a 10-Day Trip Includes - Expert guide to safari tourism and wildlife destinations.

Zambia Safari Cost 2027: 10-Day Trip Budget Planner
Last updated: October 2026
Zambia Safari Cost 2027: What a 10-Day Trip Includes usually falls between $3,330 and $16,573 per person, based on trip style, camp level, and route. A mid-range 10-day safari often costs about $3,500 to $7,000. June through September is the best planning window for dry-season wildlife viewing. Compare verified Zambia safari packages on SafariFind before you book.
At a glance
- Cost: About $3,330 to $16,573 per person for a 10-day Zambia safari, depending on comfort and inclusions.
- Best time: June through September, within the May to October dry season.
- Duration: Ten days gives you time for two or three safari areas.
- Best for: Travelers who want walking safaris, canoe trips, and fewer vehicles.
- Wildlife highlights: Lower Zambezi canoeing and Kafue National Park game drives.
- Planning year: Use 2027 prices as a guide and confirm availability before paying.
Zambia safari prices can differ by more than $13,000 for trips of similar length. A budget package can include canoeing and camping, while a luxury trip may use private camps, flights, and premium guides.
Zambia Safari Cost 2027: What a 10-Day Trip Includes depends on five main factors. These are accommodation, transport, park fees, activities, and the time of year. The route also matters. A trip using road transfers costs less than one using several charter flights.
This guide uses current research for 2026 and 2027 planning. It explains realistic price bands, common inclusions, and the costs that often sit outside the package. The figures are guides, not fixed quotes. Safari operators can change rates when camps, fuel, flights, or park fees change.
Quick answer: A 10-day Zambia safari costs about $3,330 for a budget land-and-water trip, while mid-range trips often use a $350 nightly guide. Luxury travel can reach $1,350 per night. A high-end 10-day itinerary may cost more than $10,000 per person. June through September is the strongest time to plan for dry-season game viewing.
Zambia is a strong choice for travelers who want space and active safari days. Many routes include walking, boating, canoeing, or night drives. That mix can make the trip feel more personal, but it can also raise the cost.
What is Zambia Safari Cost 2027: What a 10-Day Trip Includes?
A 10-day Zambia safari costs about $3,330 at the budget end and more than $10,000 at the luxury end. The price usually covers lodging, meals, guided activities, and some transfers. International flights, visas, travel insurance, tips, and personal spending often require a separate budget.
Known for: active days and remote wildlife areas
Zambia is known for walking safaris, river activities, and large parks with lower visitor numbers than some East African destinations. A 10-day route can combine Lower Zambezi canoeing with Kafue National Park game drives. One listed budget package includes five nights of Lower Zambezi canoeing and three days in Kafue National Park. It starts at $3,330, or $333 per day.
Lower Zambezi canoeing changes the pace of a safari. You spend time on the water, then return to camp for meals and rest. Kafue adds a different setting, with longer game drives and a wide range of habitats. The mix suits travelers who want more than vehicle viewing.
What does the advertised price usually cover?
A 10-day safari package commonly includes nine nights of accommodation, meals during the safari, a guide, and planned activities. The exact list depends on the operator. Some packages include park fees and transfers, while others add them during the booking process.
- Accommodation in camps, lodges, or tented sites.
- Breakfast, lunch, and dinner during the safari portion.
- Game drives, walking safaris, boating, or canoeing.
- Guide and support staff.
- Road transfers between camps, where listed.
- Park fees, if the package terms include them.
Travelers should read the words "included" and "excluded" line by line. A low headline price may exclude domestic flights or park fees. A higher quote may offer a better value if it includes transfers, drinks, and more activities.
Why the 10-day format matters
Zambia safari packages often appear in 7 to 10-day bands or 11 to 14-day bands. Ten days sits in the useful middle. It allows two regions without rushing every transfer day. It also gives you time to add a river stay, walking activity, or rest night near a gateway town.
Shorter trips can work well for one park. Longer trips can add South Luangwa, Lower Zambezi, Kafue, or Victoria Falls. However, each new region adds transport time and often adds a flight. For many travelers, ten days gives the best balance between variety and cost.
Early planning link: Compare 7-day Zambia safari prices before extending your trip to ten days.
How much does a safari cost in Zambia?
A safari in Zambia costs about $2,495 to $16,573 for trips lasting five to twelve days, according to current tour listings. A 10-day trip often sits between $3,330 and $10,050 per person, but premium itineraries can cost more. Your final quote depends on accommodation, transport, activities, and the season.
Price range: three common travel styles
| Name | Price | Duration | Rating | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Budget adventure safari | From $3,330 | 10 days | Not stated | Canoeing, camping, and road-based travel |
| Mid-range Zambia safari | About $3,500 to $7,000 | 10 days | Not stated | Comfortable camps and mixed activities |
| Premium Zambia and Zimbabwe itinerary | From $10,050 | 10 days or longer | Not stated | Private guides, higher comfort, and multi-country routes |
The budget figure comes from a 10-day itinerary with Lower Zambezi canoeing and Kafue safari days. The mid-range band uses the reported average of $350 per night as a guide. The premium figure comes from an Audley Travel Zambia and Zimbabwe itinerary listed from $10,050 per person.
How nightly rates shape the total
Adventure Life reports an average nightly cost of $350 for a mid-range Zambia safari. The same source gives $1,350 per night for a luxury safari. Ten nights at those simple guide rates would equal $3,500 or $13,500 before checking the full package terms.
Nightly math helps you compare quotes, but it does not tell the whole story. A camp may include more meals, drinks, transfers, and activities. Another may list a lower room price and charge for each game drive. Ask operators to show the full per-person total.
One 10-day Zambia safari is listed from £5,299 per person for nine nights. Currency changes affect the dollar equivalent. Therefore, compare the inclusions and cancellation terms, not just the number shown on the first page.
What raises the price?
- Private vehicles instead of shared game drives.
- Charter flights between remote camps.
- Luxury tented camps or private lodges.
- Peak dry-season travel from June through September.
- Multi-country routes that add Victoria Falls or Zimbabwe.
- Extra activities such as private walking trips or canoeing.
What lowers the price? Shared vehicles, road transfers, simple camps, and travel during less busy dates. You should still confirm whether the lower rate includes park fees, meals, and airport transfers.
Decision point: Compare Kafue safari costs and package inclusions for a lower-cost route.
What does a 10-day Zambia safari include?
A 10-day Zambia safari usually includes nine nights of lodging, meals, guided wildlife activities, and transport between planned stops. The package may include park fees and domestic flights, but you must confirm those items in writing. The route can combine two parks or add a river and waterfall stop.
Common day-by-day structure
A typical 10-day route begins with arrival and a transfer to the first lodge. The middle days focus on wildlife activities. The final day covers the return transfer to an airport or the next part of your holiday.
- Day 1: Arrival, airport transfer, and first lodge night.
- Days 2 to 4: Morning and afternoon activities in the first safari area.
- Day 5: Transfer by road or light aircraft.
- Days 6 to 8: Game drives, walking, canoeing, or boating.
- Day 9: Final full safari day or transfer to a gateway town.
- Day 10: Departure transfer or onward travel.
The schedule changes with the route. A canoe-focused trip may spend five nights on the Lower Zambezi and three days in Kafue National Park. A route that adds Victoria Falls may use one or two nights for sightseeing instead of game drives.
Important costs outside the headline price
International flights are often separate. So are visas, travel insurance, tips, laundry, premium drinks, and private activities. Some operators also charge for internal flights, airport transfers, or conservation fees.
Ask these questions before you pay a deposit:
- Are park and conservation fees included?
- Are all domestic flights included?
- Does the price cover airport transfers?
- Are drinks, laundry, and tips excluded?
- Is the quote based on shared or private rooms?
- What happens if weather delays a flight?
A clear quote should show the total cost per person, the currency, the room type, and the payment schedule. It should also state what happens if you cancel or change dates.
How to compare two similar quotes
Start with the number of nights. A 10-day trip may include nine nights, while another itinerary may count ten nights. Then compare activities. Five nights of canoeing is not the same product as five nights of game drives.
Next, compare transfers. Road travel costs less but takes longer. Charter flights save time and reach remote camps, yet they can add a large amount to the total. Finally, compare guide access. A private vehicle can improve flexibility, but it raises the daily rate.
SafariFind connects travelers with verified tour operators. Read authentic traveler reviews, compare the full inclusions, and ask for a written quote before choosing a package.
When should you book a 10-day Zambia safari for 2027?
June through September is the recommended planning period for a 2027 Zambia safari. These months fall within the dry season, which is generally listed as May through October. Dry conditions can make wildlife easier to find near water and can improve road access.
Best time to visit: June through September
June through September is best for travelers who want dry-season wildlife viewing. Grass is lower in many areas, and animals often gather near rivers and other water sources. These months can also bring higher prices, especially for popular camps and private rooms.
May and October sit near the wider dry-season window. They may suit travelers who want a different balance of price and weather, but conditions can change by region. Ask the operator about road access, camp opening dates, and flight schedules for your exact route.
Getting there: plan the gateway before the park
Lusaka is a common planning point for Zambia travel. A route may start with an airport pickup, followed by a road transfer or a domestic flight. Some travelers instead begin near Victoria Falls, depending on the itinerary.
Harry Mwaanga Nkumbula International Airport can matter for routes that include Livingstone and Victoria Falls. The right gateway depends on the first park, the operator, and the number of internal flights included.
Do not book an international connection that leaves no buffer after a charter flight. A missed connection can create a costly problem. Allow time for delays and ask the operator how they manage late arrivals.
How early should you plan?
Start comparing 2027 packages while camps still have the room type you want. This matters most for June through September and for private vehicles. Ask for two quotes. One should show the lowest practical cost. The other should show the comfort level you prefer.
Check whether your chosen camp operates during your travel month. Some seasonal camps open only during part of the year. Also check the payment schedule. A low deposit does not always mean a low total price.
Route idea: Review Livingstone safari packages and day-trip costs before adding Victoria Falls.
How can you reduce Zambia safari costs without losing quality?
You can reduce Zambia safari costs by choosing shared transfers, simple camps, road travel, and a two-region route. The best savings come from removing expensive transport, not from cutting important wildlife days. Keep a good guide and enough time in each area.
Choose the right route
A route that uses two regions can offer variety without constant travel. Kafue and Lower Zambezi work well for travelers who want game drives and water activities. A single-park trip may cost less because it reduces transfers, but it can feel less varied.
Adding remote parks can raise costs. For example, a route that requires more flights usually costs more than a road-based plan. Ask whether a domestic flight is needed or simply more convenient.
Travelers interested in a quieter northern route can compare the Luambe National Park safari package guide. Those who want wetlands can review the Bangweulu Wetlands cost guide for 2027.
Cut the right extras
- Use shared vehicles if your group accepts a fixed schedule.
- Choose road transfers when travel time is reasonable.
- Compare full-board camps with room-only rates.
- Skip a private vehicle if shared departures have strong reviews.
- Keep one free day instead of adding several costly excursions.
Do not cut travel insurance. It protects you against some medical, cancellation, and delay costs. The policy must cover safari activities and any flight or evacuation terms required by the operator.
Use reviews as a price check
Reviews can show whether an operator delivers the service promised in the quote. Look for comments about guides, transfers, meals, room quality, and communication. A cheaper package is not good value if guests report surprise charges or poor logistics.
SafariFind lists verified operators and authentic traveler reviews. Compare tour operators by route and inclusions. Then request a quote that matches your exact travel dates, room type, and group size.
Image alt text suggestions
- “Canoe safari on the Lower Zambezi during a 10-day Zambia trip”
- “Game drive vehicle in Kafue National Park, Zambia”
- “Zambia safari camp beside a river at sunset”
- “Travelers viewing wildlife from a guided canoe in Zambia”
Key takeaways
- Set a starting budget of $3,330 per person for a 10-day budget Zambia safari with canoeing and Kafue game viewing.
- Use $350 per night as a mid-range planning guide and $1,350 per night for luxury planning.
- Compare June through September dates early because they match the recommended dry-season travel window.
- Check every quote for park fees, domestic flights, transfers, insurance, tips, and premium drinks.
- Compare a two-region route with a single-park route before paying a deposit, because transfers can change the total sharply.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a safari cost in Zambia?
A safari in Zambia costs about $2,495 to $16,573 for trips lasting five to twelve days. A 10-day safari can start near $3,330 for a budget canoeing and Kafue itinerary. Luxury trips can reach more than $10,000 per person.
How much does a 10-day Zambia safari cost in 2027?
A 10-day Zambia safari costs about $3,330 at the budget end and around $3,500 to $7,000 for many mid-range plans. A premium Zambia and Zimbabwe itinerary is listed from $10,050 per person. Confirm the 2027 quote, inclusions, and currency before booking.
What does a 10-day Zambia safari package include?
A 10-day Zambia safari package usually includes nine nights of lodging, meals, guided activities, and planned transfers. Park fees, internal flights, drinks, tips, insurance, and international flights may sit outside the price. Read the written inclusions before paying a deposit.
What is the best time to visit Zambia for a safari?
June through September is the recommended time to visit Zambia for a safari. These months fall within the May to October dry season and can offer easier wildlife viewing near water. Peak dates may cost more, so compare 2027 departures early.
Is Zambia cheaper than other African safari destinations?
Zambia has budget packages near $3,330, but luxury trips can cost $1,350 per night. The final price depends on camp level, flights, park fees, and route length. Compare complete packages rather than comparing country names alone.
How can I book a Zambia safari through SafariFind?
SafariFind connects travelers with verified tour operators, package details, and authentic reviews. Compare routes and prices, read recent traveler feedback, then request a quote that lists every included and excluded cost.
Conclusion
A 10-day Zambia safari costs about $3,330 for a budget adventure and can pass $10,000 for a premium itinerary. The clearest value often comes from a route that combines two regions without adding too many flights. Lower Zambezi canoeing and Kafue game drives create a varied trip at the lower end of the market.
Plan around June through September if dry-season wildlife viewing is your priority. Use $350 per night as a mid-range guide, then check the full quote for park fees, transfers, and flights. A luxury plan can use the $1,350 nightly guide reported for Zambia.
Compare verified safari packages on SafariFind. Read authentic reviews, compare tour operators, and request a quote for your 2027 dates. The right package is the one that shows the full cost clearly and gives you enough time to enjoy Zambia rather than rushing between camps.
Plan Your Safari with SafariFind
These recommendations use real data from SafariFind, where you can compare operators, browse packages, and read verified traveler reviews before you book.
Recommended Safari Operators from SafariFind
What Travelers Say (SafariFind Reviews)
References
- Road Scholar, Iconic Africa Journey Across South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Zambia
- Travelstride, Top Zambia Budget Safari Trips and Packages 2026/2027
- Trailfinders, Zambia Holidays 2026/2027
- TourRadar, Budget Africa Tours and Trips 2026/2027
- Adventure Life, Best Zambia Tours and Cruises 2026/2027
- Audley Travel, Zambia Vacations and Safaris 2026 and 2027
- On The Go Tours, Zambia Safaris 2026/2027
- Responsible Travel, Budget Vacations in Zambia 2026 and 2027
V2Ui.sources
- Road Scholar, Iconic Africa Journey Across South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Zambia
- Travelstride, Top Zambia Budget Safari Trips and Packages 2026/2027
- Trailfinders, Zambia Holidays 2026/2027
- TourRadar, Budget Africa Tours and Trips 2026/2027
- Adventure Life, Best Zambia Tours and Cruises 2026/2027
- Audley Travel, Zambia Vacations and Safaris 2026 and 2027
- On The Go Tours, Zambia Safaris 2026/2027
- Responsible Travel, Budget Vacations in Zambia 2026 and 2027
Related to
Ready to start your safari adventure?
Explore curated safari packages and find your perfect African adventure with verified operators.













